cabecera carracedelo 

The municipality of Carracedelo is located at the northwest of León, in a tectonic valley of El Bierzo, in the km 399 of the A6, between the Sil and Cúa rivers, halfway through Aquilanos mountains, which separate El Bierzo and Cabrera from the Ancares UNESCO Biosphere Reserve, which lies at the border between León, Asturias and Lugo.

The municipality borders Carucedo and Borrenes in the south, Cacabelos in the north, Ponferrada in the east, Corullón and Toral de los Vados-Villadecanes on the west and Camponaraya in the northwest.

The rivers Cúa – which runs from north to south – and Sil – from east to west –  flow through it.

The roads crossing the municipality are the N-VI and the A-6 motorway.

The municipality comprises the villages of Carracedelo, Carracedo del Monasterio, Villadepalos, Villaverde de la Abadía, Villamartín de la Abadía and Posada del Bierzo, and the neighbourhoods of San Martín de Carracedo, San Juan de Carracedo and Villanueva de la Abadía.

Carracedelo is flanked by two ‘Heritages of Humanity’. On the one hand, the fertile Way of St James and, on the other, the majestic Roman gold mines of Las Médulas.


pdf Brochure pdf


IMAGEStores And Specialty Shops

IMAGEThematic Leisure Options